“NBC Nightly News” anchor to present National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media to industry leaders

NEW YORK, NY (January 17, 2017)—Dana Points, president of the American Society of Magazine Editors, announced today that this year’s Ellie Awards Annual Gala will be hosted by Lester Holt, anchor of "NBC Nightly News with Lester Holt" and “Dateline NBC.” The editorial leaders of more than 60 print and digital publications are expected to be honored at the lunchtime presentation at Cipriani Wall Street in New York on Tuesday, February 7.

“At the beginning of every year more than 500 magazine editors and publishers gather to celebrate the best of print and digital journalism,” said Points. “This year we are delighted to share the occasion with one of our most distinguished television colleagues, Lester Holt.” Holt was named anchor of “NBC Nightly News” in 2015 and also anchors "Dateline NBC" and "Weekend TODAY." In 2016 he moderated the first of the three presidential debates.

The National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media—known as the Ellies, for the elephant-shaped statuette presented to each winner—are sponsored by ASME in association with the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. Last year 67 media organizations were honored as finalists, and 18 publications won awards. The 2016 winners included The Atlantic’s James Bennet, now Editorial Page editor of The New York Times; The Hollywood Reporter’s Janice Min; New York Magazine’s Adam Moss; The New Yorker’s David Remnick; and BuzzFeed News’ Ben Smith.

Established in 1966, the Ellies are the most prestigious awards for print and digital magazine journalism in the United States. Two hundred eighty national and regional publications entered the awards this year, submitting 1,376 print and digital entries. The awards were judged by 290 journalists and educators, who met at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism in New York at the beginning of January to choose the finalists and winners in each of the 20 Ellie Award categories.

The names of the 104 Ellie Awards finalists will be Twittercast on January 19. Tickets to the 2017 gala will go on sale the following day. For information about tickets, email [email protected].

About ASME

The American Society of Magazine Editors is the principal organization for magazine journalists in the United States. The members of ASME include the editorial leaders of most major consumer and business magazines published in print and on digital platforms. Founded in 1963, ASME works to defend the First Amendment, protect editorial independence and support the development of journalism. ASME sponsors the National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media in association with the Columbia Journalism School and publishes the ASME Guidelines for Editors and Publishers.

About Columbia Journalism School

For over a century, the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism has been preparing journalists with instruction and training that stresses academic rigor, ethics, journalistic inquiry and professional practice. Founded with a gift from Joseph Pulitzer, the school opened its doors in 1912 and offers master of science, master of arts and doctor of philosophy degrees. Learn more at journalism.columbia.edu.

Ellie Awards Supported by Texture and Publishers Press


Sid Holt
[email protected]

Susan Russ
[email protected]