Redbook’s Margarita Bertsos Receives 2014 ASME Award

New York, NY (April 8, 2014)—The American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME) is pleased to announce that Margarita Bertsos, Health Editor, Redbook, is the recipient of the 2014 ASME Scholarship to the Yale Publishing Course (YPC): Leadership Strategies in Magazine Media, which will take place July 13-18, 2014, at Yale University.

“ASME was founded 50 years ago in part to provide training for editorial leaders,” said Sid Holt, chief executive of ASME. “Partnering with the Yale Publishing Course to offer this scholarship for ASME members and their associates is one of the best ways to accomplish this goal.”

The Yale Publishing Course is designed for mid- to senior-level publishing professionals from around the world. Its mission is to provide participants with a unique educational experience that equips them with the knowledge and skills they need to be effective leaders in a rapidly changing global marketplace.

After much deliberation, the scholarship committee—which included Dorothy Kalins, Director, Dorothy Kalins Ink, and Founding Editor, Metropolitan Home and Saveur; Dick Stolley, Senior Editorial Advisor, Time Inc., and Founding Editor, People; and Tina C. Weiner, Director, Yale Publishing Course—chose Bertsos from an exceptional field of applicants. Bertsos has spent the last 12 years occupying various magazine posts and building a great foundation for a career in the publishing industry. She started as assistant to the editor in chief of Glamour, then became a daily blogger for and later an articles editor, first at Glamour and now at Redbook. Bertsos’ background, enthusiasm and thirst for enrichment made her an outstanding choice.

“Among this year’s terrific group of applicants, Margarita Bertsos stood out due to her innovative work as an editor and to the strong recommendation of her editor in chief, Jill Herzig, who cited her extraordinary work ethic, energy and versatility,” said Weiner. “Margarita’s desire to attend YPC to become a better editor and more effective leader is totally in sync with the mission of our program.”

The week-long course includes focused lectures and interactive sessions with 30-plus distinguished faculty from the Yale School of Management and industry leaders, including Michela O’Connor Abrams, President, Dwell; Michael Clinton, President, Marketing and Publishing Director, Hearst Magazines; Cynthia Leive, Editor in Chief, Glamour; Adam Rapoport, Editor in Chief, Bon Appétit; and Tracey Ryder, President and CEO, Edible Communities, Inc.  For a full list of speakers and the preliminary program, visit the Yale Publishing Course website.

The American Society of Magazine Editors is the principal organization for magazine journalists in the United States. The members of ASME include the editorial leaders of most major consumer and business magazines published in print and on digital platforms. Founded in 1963, ASME works to defend the First Amendment, protect editorial independence and support the development of journalism. ASME sponsors the National Magazine Awards in association with the Columbia Journalism School and publishes the ASME Guidelines for Editors and Publishers.

For more information about the Yale Publishing Course, visit


American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME):
Sid Holt, [email protected]

Yale Publishing Course:
Amy Shah, [email protected]