ASME postponed original event date due to COVID-19 concerns
NEW YORK (May 12, 2020)—The American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME) will announce winners for the 2020 National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media during a virtual event on Thursday, May 28, at 8pm ET / 5pm PT. All 112 finalists will be honored during the 55th annual presentation of the Ellie Awards. Ticket holders will be sent a password to access the event.
ASME President Jonathan Dorn will open the stream with presenters following for each award category. Guest presenters will include:
  • General Excellence, Service and Lifestyle: Maile Carpenter, Editor in Chief, Food Network Magazine and The Pioneer Woman Magazine
  • Feature Photography: Clara Jeffery, Editor in Chief, Mother Jones
  • Digital Innovation: Edward Felsenthal, Editor in Chief and Chief Executive Officer, TIME
  • Public Interest: Paul Reyes, Editor, Virginia Quarterly Review
  • ASME NEXT Awards: Debra Adams Simmons, Executive Editor, Culture and History, National Geographic
  • Leisure Interests: Jessica Pels, Editor in Chief, Cosmopolitan
  • Columns and Commentary: Christopher Keyes, Vice President and Editor, Outside
  • Social Media: Anna Holmes, Executive Vice President, Higher Ground Productions
  • General Excellence, Literature, Science and Politics: Ben Goldberger, Executive Editor, TIME
  • ASME Award for Fiction: Lucy Kaylin, Editor in Chief, O, The Oprah Magazine
  • Single-Topic Issue: Nicholas Thompson, Editor in Chief, WIRED
  • Feature Design: Joe Brown, Group Editorial Director, Hearst Autos
  • Essays and Criticism: Charles Whitaker, Dean, Medill School of Journalism, Northwestern University
  • Video: Duy Linh Tu, Professor of Journalism, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism
  • Profile Writing: Janice Min, ASME Vice President, Media Consultant, Former Co-President, Billboard and The Hollywood Reporter
  • Website: Alison Overholt, Senior Vice President, Multiplatform Storytelling and Journalism, ESPN
  • Reporting: Adi Ignatius, Editor in Chief, Harvard Business Review Group
  • General Excellence, Special Interest: Pamela Maffei McCarthy, Deputy Editor, The New Yorker, September 1992-April 2020
  • Podcasting: Christene Barberich, Global Editor in Chief and Co-Founder, Refinery29
  • Design: Sid Evans, Editor in Chief, Southern Living
  • Personal Service: Stephen Orr, Editor in Chief, Better Homes and Gardens
  • Feature Writing: Julia Turner, Deputy Managing Editor, Los Angeles Times
  • Photography: Amanda Kludt, Editor in Chief, Eater
  • General Excellence, News, Sports and Entertainment: Cindi Leive, Senior Fellow, USC Annenberg Center on Communication Leadership and Policy 
Journalist Tom Junod will present The Magazine Editors’ Hall of Fame Award to David Granger, former editor-in-chief of Esquire magazine.
“Although we had to delay the presentation of the awards—a tough but necessary decision—we are proud to celebrate the best of print and digital journalism with this online event,” said Sid Holt, executive director, ASME. “We are thankful to the honorees and the presenters for their continuing support of the National Magazine Awards, and we are sure this virtual event will be a special one.”

ASME plans to host an in-person event to honor this year’s winners and finalists later in the year.
Established in 1966, the National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media are sponsored by the American Society of Magazine Editors in association with the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and are administered by ASME. Originally limited to print magazines, the awards now recognize magazine-quality journalism published in any medium.
Two hundred forty-five national and regional publications entered the Ellie Awards this year, submitting 590 print, 531 digital and 133 multiplatform entries.
The 281 print- and digital-magazine editors, art directors, photo editors and journalism educators who judged the Ellies this year met in mid-January at the Columbia School of Journalism in New York City to choose the 2020 finalists.
Winners receive “Ellies,” the elephant-shaped statuettes modeled on Alexander Calder’s stabile “Walking Elephant” that give the awards their name.
Visit for more information about the Ellie Awards 2020, including links to content.
* * *
About ASME
The American Society of Magazine Editors is the principal organization for the editorial leaders of magazines and websites published in the United States. Founded in 1963, ASME strives to safeguard the First Amendment, support the development of journalism and defend the editorial integrity of print and digital publications. ASME sponsors the National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media in association with the Columbia Journalism School, conducts training programs for reporters and editors and publishes the ASME Guidelines for Editors and Publishers.
About Columbia Journalism School
For over a century, the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism has been preparing journalists with instruction and training that stresses academic rigor, ethics, journalistic inquiry and professional practice. Founded with a gift from Joseph Pulitzer, the school opened its doors in 1912 and offers master of science, master of arts and doctor of philosophy degrees.
Kaitlyn Kurosky
# # #