Five "under 30” magazine journalists to be honored at Ellie Awards on March 14

New York, NY (January 31, 2019)—The American Society of Magazine Editors today announced the winners of the fourth-annual ASME NEXT Awards for Journalists Under 30. Five young magazine makers will be honored at the annual presentation of the National Magazine Awards, also known as the Ellie Awards, at Brooklyn Steel in Williamsburg, New York, on Thursday, March 14.

The winners of the 2019 ASME NEXT Awards are:

  • Alex Lau, Staff Photographer, Bon Appétit
    Nominated by Adam Rapoport, Editor in Chief, Bon Appétit
  • Olivia Nuzzi, Washington Correspondent, New York Magazine
    Nominated by Jebediah Reed, Deputy Editor,
  • Ernest Owens, LGBTQ Editor, Online Contributor, Philadelphia Magazine
    Nominated by Tom McGrath, Editor in Chief, Philadelphia Magazine
  • Jeremy Raff, Producer, Atlantic Studios, The Atlantic
    Nominated by Kasia Cieplak-Mayr von Baldegg, Executive Producer, Atlantic Studios
  • Elaine Teng, General Editor, ESPN The Magazine
    Nominated by Scott Burton, Executive Editor, ESPN The Magazine

The honorees were chosen by a distinguished group of print and digital journalists. The judging was led by Jessica Pels, Editor in Chief, Cosmopolitan. The judges included Andrea Chambers, Director, New York University Center for Publishing; Kelly Conniff, Editor,; Jon Fine, Executive Director, Editorial, Inc.; Samantha Henig, Editorial Director, Audio, The New York Times; Claire Howorth, Executive Editor, Vanity Fair; Stephanie Kaplan Lewis, Co-Founder, CEO and Editor in Chief, Her Campus Media; Jacklyn Monk, Executive Editor, ESSENCE; Caroline Smith, Editor, Photography and Visuals, Topic; Ganda Suthivarakom, Managing Editor, Wirecutter; Siung Tjia, Design Director, The New Republic; Dan Wakeford, Deputy Editor, People; and Allison Wright, Executive Editor, Virginia Quarterly Review.

“The ASME NEXT Awards 2019 winners represent the astonishing range of talent working in magazine journalism today, from writers and videographers reporting on the political and social transformation of our country to photographers and editors whose work brings print and digital media to life,” said Sid Holt, chief executive of ASME. “The accomplishments of these five 20-something journalists explain the enduring appeal of magazine storytelling.”

The ASME NEXT Awards honor outstanding achievement by magazine journalists under the age of 30. Sponsored by the American Society of Magazine Editors, the ASME NEXT Awards were established in 2016 to support the development of print and digital magazine media by recognizing young journalists who have already demonstrated extraordinary promise at the beginning of their careers. Honorees receive medals bearing the likeness of “Elephant,” the symbol of the National Magazine Awards.

Nominees submit portfolios of their work, including print and digital content, and are judged on their career accomplishments and their potential to make significant contributions to magazine media. Previous honorees include Lindsay Peoples Wagner, now editor in chief of Teen Vogue, and Ben Taub, whose reporting for The New Yorker was nominated for a National Magazine Award in 2017 and won the Livingston Award for International Reporting, the Overseas Press Club Award for Investigative Reporting and the Robert F. Kennedy Award for International Print Reporting. For more information about the awards, visit

Established in 1966, the National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media are sponsored by the American Society of Magazine Editors in association with the Columbia School of Journalism and are administered by ASME. Originally limited to print magazines, the awards now recognize magazine-quality journalism published in any medium. Each winner receives an “Ellie,” modeled on the symbol of the awards, Alexander Calder’s stabile “Elephant.” The announcement of the Ellies 2019 finalists will be Twittercast on Thursday, February 7, beginning at 1:15 pm.

The Ellie Awards will be presented on Thursday, March 14, at Brooklyn Steel, 319 Frost Street, Williamsburg, New York. Tickets go on sale February 8. Ticket sales provide support for the Osborn Elliott Scholarship at the Columbia School of Journalism. Named in honor of the former Newsweek editor, ASME president and Columbia dean, the scholarship is awarded to students who intend to pursue careers in magazine journalism. To purchase tickets, email [email protected] or call Wise & Company at 212.938.1032.

About ASME

The American Society of Magazine Editors is the principal organization for magazine journalists in the United States. The members of ASME include the editorial leaders of most major consumer and business magazines published in print and on digital platforms. Founded in 1963, ASME works to defend the First Amendment, protect editorial independence and support the development of journalism. ASME sponsors the National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media in association with the Columbia Journalism School and publishes the ASME Guidelines for Editors and Publishers.


Sid Holt
[email protected]

Susan Russ
[email protected]