Young journalists to be honored at American Magazine Media Conference

New York, NY (January 28, 2016)—The American Society of Magazine Editors today announced the winners of the inaugural ASME Next Awards for Journalists Under 30. Five young magazine makers, including two editors, a photography editor, a writer and a photographer, will be honored at the American Magazine Media Conference on Tuesday, February 2, 2016.

The winners of the 2016 ASME Next Awards are:

  • Bobby Doherty, Staff Photographer, New York
    Nominated by Jody Quon, Photography Director, New York
  • Andrew Gold, Photography Director,
    Nominated by Sally Singer, Creative Digital Director, Vogue
  • Anna Peele, Associate Editor, Esquire
    Nominated by David Granger, Editor in Chief, Esquire
  • Sarah Yager, Managing Editor, The Atlantic
    Nominated by Scott Stossel, Editor, The Atlantic
  • Lindsay Zoladz, Pop Music Critic, New York
    Nominated by David Marchese, Senior Editor, Culture/Vulture, New York

The honorees were chosen by a distinguished group of print and digital editors, art directors and photo editors. The judging was led by Mark Jannot, the president of ASME. The judges included:

  • Richard Demak, Senior Editor, Chief of Reporters, Sports Illustrated
  • Samantha Henig, Senior Editor for Digital Transition, The New York Times
  • Jared Hohlt, Editor, Print, New York
  • Mark Jannot, Vice President, Content, National Audubon Society
  • Eliot Kaplan, Vice President , Talent Acquisition, Hearst Magazines
  • Robert Newman, Creative Director, This Old House
  • Alex Pollack, Photo Director, Bon Appetit
  • Helen Rosner, Executive Editor, Eater
  • Matthew Schnipper, Managing Editor, Pitchfork
  • Eric Sullivan, Features Editor,, and President, ASME Next
  • Joshua Topolsky, Former Editor in Chief, Engadget, and Founder, The Verge
  • Chandra Turner, Executive Editor, Parents, and Founder and President, Ed2010

“Whether it’s a cover photo of a bewigged Donald Trump or an ‘annotated’ profile of Judd Apatow, the accomplishments of these five young journalists speak for themselves,” said Sid Holt, Chief Executive of ASME. “Their commitment to careers in magazine media promises a bright future for our industry. Or as one of the judges said to me, we can all look forward to working for these people some day.”

The ASME Next Awards honor outstanding achievement by magazine journalists under the age of 30. Sponsored by ASME in association with MPA—The Association of Magazine Media, the ASME Next Awards are intended to recognize young journalists of extraordinary promise and to support the development of magazine journalism both in print and online.

More than 70 journalists were nominated for ASME Next Awards by the editors of leading print and digital publications. Nominees submitted portfolios of their work, including print and digital content, and were judged on their accomplishments and their potential to make significant contributions to magazine media. Winners receive certificates of recognition and are honored at the American Magazine Media Conference, the premier event for industry leaders.

About ASME

The American Society of Magazine Editors is the principal organization for magazine journalists in the United States. The members of ASME include the editorial leaders of most major consumer and business magazines published in print and on digital platforms. Founded in 1963, ASME works to defend the First Amendment, protect editorial independence and support the development of journalism. ASME sponsors the National Magazine Awards in association with the Columbia Journalism School and publishes the ASME Guidelines for Editors and Publishers.


Sid Holt
[email protected]

Susan Russ
[email protected]