Five "under 30” magazine journalists to be honored at annual Ellies lunch on March 13

New York, NY (February 7, 2018)—The American Society of Magazine Editors today announced the winners of the third-annual ASME NEXT Awards for Journalists Under 30. Five young magazine makers will be honored at the Ellie Awards Annual Luncheon on March 13 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York.

Hosted by Don Lemon, the anchor of “CNN Tonight With Don Lemon,” the Ellie Awards lunch will include the announcement of the 2018 National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media as well as the presentation of the Magazine Editors’ Hall of Fame Award to the founding editor of Metropolitan Home and Saveur, Dorothy Kalins. The 2018 ASME Award for Fiction will also be presented to Michael Ray, the editor of Zoetrope: All-Story. More than 500 magazine editors and publishers are expected to attend the lunch.

The winners of the 2018 ASME NEXT Awards are:

  • Dan Alexander, Associate Editor, Forbes
    Nominated by Randall Lane, Chief Content Officer, Forbes
  • Lauren Chan, formerly Fashion Features Editor, Glamour
    Nominated by Sasha Iglehart, Deputy Fashion Editor, Glamour
  • Aymann Ismail, Video Editor and Producer, Slate
    Nominated by Jeffrey Bloomer, Senior Video Producer, Slate
  • Vann R. Newkirk II, Staff Writer,
    Nominated by Adrienne LaFrance, Editor,
  • Katy Waldman, Staff Writer, Slate
    Nominated by Laura Bennett, Features Director, Slate

The honorees were chosen by a distinguished group of print and digital journalists. The judging was led by Vanessa K. De Luca, editor in chief of ESSENCE. The judges included Sara Austin, Executive Editor, Real Simple; Jon Gluck, Executive Director, Talent Acquisition and Editorial Development, Hearst Magazines; Samantha Henig, Editorial Director for Audio, The New York Times; Lucy Kaylin, Editor in Chief, O, The Oprah Magazine; Kevin Lerner, Assistant Professor, Marist College; John Swansburg, Senior Editor, The Atlantic; Liz Vaccariello, Editor in Chief, Parents; and Tom Weber, Contributing Editor, TIME.

“What this year’s ASME NEXT Award winners have accomplished is simply astonishing—for anyone, at any age,” said Sid Holt, chief executive of ASME. “Whether it’s Dan Alexander reporting on Trump-family financial improprieties, Lauren Chan turning fashion journalism into consumer advocacy, Aymann Ismail challenging American Muslim stereotypes, Vann Newkirk covering the never-ending struggle against racial inequality or Katy Waldman exploring a culture under pressure from both left and right, the work of these five journalists has enriched magazine media while illuminating our national discourse.”

The ASME NEXT Awards honor outstanding achievement by magazine journalists under the age of 30. Sponsored by the American Society of Magazine Editors, the ASME NEXT Awards were established in 2016 to support the development of print and digital magazine media by recognizing young journalists who have already demonstrated extraordinary promise at the beginning of their careers. Honorees receive medals bearing the likeness of “Elephant,” the symbol of the National Magazine Awards.

More than 70 journalists were nominated this year for ASME NEXT Awards by the editors of leading print and digital publications. Nominees submitted portfolios of their work, including print and digital content, and were judged on their career accomplishments and their potential to make significant contributions to magazine media.

Established in 1966, the National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media are sponsored by the American Society of Magazine Editors in association with the Columbia School of Journalism and are administered by ASME. Originally limited to print magazines, the awards now recognize magazine-quality journalism published in any medium. Each winner receives an “Ellie,” modeled on the symbol of the awards, Alexander Calder’s stabile “Elephant.”

Ellie Awards Annual Luncheon ticket sales provide support for the Osborn Elliott Scholarship at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism. Named in honor of the former Newsweek editor, ASME president and Columbia dean, the scholarship is awarded to students who intend to pursue careers in magazine journalism.

Tickets to the Ellie Awards Annual Luncheon are on sale now. To purchase tickets, visit or call Wise & Company at 212.938.1032.

About ASME

The American Society of Magazine Editors is the principal organization for magazine journalists in the United States. The members of ASME include the editorial leaders of most major consumer and business magazines published in print and on digital platforms. Founded in 1963, ASME works to defend the First Amendment, protect editorial independence and support the development of journalism. ASME sponsors the National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media in association with the Columbia Journalism School and publishes the ASME Guidelines for Editors and Publishers.


Sid Holt
[email protected]

Susan Russ
[email protected]